winner

winner

    And the winner is……uh uh! Not yet! First we need to break it down. Be patient. I will try to make this as quick and as painless as possible. Once again, I am breaking down BOTH episodes from this week so I apologize if it’s a tad wordy.

    Both contenders started out with the songs that were actually their strongest performances of the season, in my humble opinion, and they both rocked! Adam once again sang ‘Mad World’ originally done by Tears for Fears. I. Love. That. Song. I rather enjoy Adam when he’s not screeching. He has a lovely voice, nice tone, good register. I just wish he sang like that all the time. The jury is still out on the heinous black trench coat that Adam wore whilst performing. Randy Jackson thinks the coat looks good. I’ve seen how Randy dresses. The fashion police are looking for him. Trust me.

    I love Kris’s version of ‘Ain’t No Sunshine’. He really performs it well and I can actually imagine that being a hit for him on the radio. The judges seem to like him tonight, well, so far. It looked as though Simon nearly succeeded in making Kris cry. Aw. Ding Ding Ding!  Round one winner: Kris. Let the games begin!

    I am glad this season is almost over. I am growing weary of Kara droning on and on about nothing useful. Honestly, all I hear when she speaks now is, ‘Yadda, yadda, performance, yadda, yadda, dude.’ She annoys me if you haven’t noticed.

    Ok. So I am not thrilled with Adam’s first song in round two. Not his fault. He didn’t choose it. But to me that song needs a bit more grit and gravel. Adam’s voice is just too clear and high to do that song justice. He did kill it at the end though, so I give him props for that.  The judges need a little moment to calm down, they are all uber gleeful over Adam’s performance. Quick, someone crush another Prozac into Paula’s drink…

    Not a huge fan of Kris’s second song choice either. I have to agree with Simon that he just didn’t deliver anything more that a pleasant rendition of a good song. Round two: Adam is the winner.

   Hmm. Round three. It’s going to be a shaky round. The song is…erm…HIDEOUS. I understand that Kara co-wrote the winner’s single, which explains why it’s crap. I only wish I was kidding. Wow. Adam. Man, that was just painful for me to listen to. Pitchy in spots is an understatement. Paula is at a loss for words. She doesn’t want to say he sucks even though I can tell that is what she’s thinking. Or more appropriately, that SONG sucks. And what’s worse? We have to suffer through it twice. Great. Kris was slightly less painful to listen to, but I stand by my original statement. If songs could smell this one would reek like a rubbish dump on a hot, humid, summer day.

    I’m not sure I understand why Carrie Underwood is on the show again. Were all the other ex-idols busy? Thankfully they are running the first shows credits over her at least.

    The awards portion of the second episode was HIGHLY amusing. Since they needed some filler to stretch out a 30 minute show to 2 plus hours, I knew there had to be some crap added in there, I just feel bad that I had to re-experience it all. Nick Mitchell won the ‘outstanding male’ award. Do you remember him? The annoying loser they actually kept pushing through at the beginning of the season. Someone, who shall remain nameless, expressed an interest in taking him out into a field and shooting him. Now I myself do not condone such violence, but I do wish he would just go away…forever.

    The second show seems to be filled with duets, and dance numbers and the top 13 singing their way through segments that are just wasting my time. I need to tune out and come back at 3 minutes to 9pm when they announce the winner. Everyone is on the show tonight. There’s Steve Martin playing a banjo. Now that’s random. I loved the sing off between Kara and bikini girl….Kara can actually carry a tune. And her body ain’t too shabby either! But I still don’t like her. Nuff said. I could have lived without seeing Rod Stewart warble his way through ‘Maggie May’, his voice is just terrifying these days. Mind you, I could have lived without seeing most of the 2 hour show. But alas, I am a glutton for punishment so I watched obediently.

    Now on to the results. Drum roll please…….The winner of American Idol Season 8 is………KRIS ALLEN! Wow! Congrats Kris, you really did well! I knew…ahem…all along that you would win. I think Adam felt he had this one in the bag. I am sure he will have a great career on Broadway, and a number one CD. No worries. It seemed as though the whole show was geared around Adam winning. Kiss performed, Queen performed. If you ask me those are two groups who’s songs Adam can absolutely perform fantastically. I wonder if the judges also felt that Mr. Lambert would take the title…

    Well that was an exciting season wasn’t it? I laughed, I cried, it became a part of me. Now toddle off and rest up for season 9. I have a feeling it’s going to be equally as exciting and definitely blog worthy.

    That’s me then.

Published in: on May 21, 2009 at 2:45 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fountainoftruthishness.wordpress.com/2009/05/21/winner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What no mention of Queen Latifah or Fergie and the Black Eyed Peas. WOW! Is all I can say. And I was glad to see Kara dominate bikini girl on two levels. Let’s hear it for the older ladies!!!!

  2. My favorite part of this is your assessment of Adam’s trench coat and the fact that Randy’s judgement may not be 100% accurate. Yikes…did you see his suit on the final show?!??

    I’m not sure what to do on Tuesday and Wednesday nights now.


Leave a Reply

